Pancake Day

Although I’m not really at all religious, I was brought up by a family and by a school who observed christian traditions. Well, in so far as most people observe Christmas, Easter and other events which have, let’s be honest, in part lost their true meaning. So anyway, as well as that we always marked Shrove Tuesday. I have rarely given things up for Lent, since  like new year’s resolutions, I generally can’t follow it through.. though, maybe I’ll try it again this time.

When I was little, my Grandma would always make me pancakes on Shrove Tuesday. Generally, it was the only time I had pancakes that I can remember. I don’t know why, just my family never cooked them any  other time so as a result they were extra special. I think I was well into my twenties before I had pancakes at any other time and I think it was with Grimly.

Anyway, I would eat them as quick as they were cooked, coming back with my clean plate for another. And another. And another, and generally, always with golden syrup and sugar. Though, I now prefer lemon and sugar or, after visiting Canada, I’ve found maple syrup and bacon works for me, which is one of those weird savoury/sweet combos .

So, this year I decided I’d cook pancakes for Grimly in latex. I haven’t done that before, and plus, not being at work, seemed a good opportunity!

feb-1-5

I went for fluffy recipe this time, and it worked quite well I think. If you’re still to make yours today- here it is if you want to  use it.

100g self-raising flour, sifted
60g caster sugar
1 medium egg
150ml milk

Mix the sifted flour and sugar in a bowl or jug
Add the egg and milk and beat well, until you have a smooth batter
Heat a drop of oil in a frying pan – when the pan is really hot, pour in about 3 tablespoons of batter
Cook for just under a minute – using a spatula to keep an eye on how it’s cooking and turn to the other side once the first is cooked
Serve

feb-1-5

They worked out pretty well I think!
feb-1-5

There’s also a special pancake day deal over at e-stims – check it out –

egg

 

8 thoughts on “Pancake Day

  1. I love this idea. I’d love to have someone cook for me dressed in latex. :))

  2. Pancake day looks like loads of fun in your house😀. Cooking in full latex. Respect 👍Go to Hungary you can eat them till the cows come home, from chestnut mouse, mince meat even mash potato wrapped in a pancake. As for Christain traditions they all have pagan origins.

  3. I have never combined pancakes and rubber before, but as long as you don’t melt any clothing on the cooker, you could be starting a trend. Bake Off in latex, now there’s a thought.

  4. For me, you are a star cooking in a rubber dress WOW! thank you for all your wonderfull emails.

  5. Head to toe latex – now there’s a great way to deal with any splashes from the pan! I’m no Christian either, but I do love pancakes and Christmas cake+dinner… I’ve always ‘cheated’ and bought ready-made batter, but looking at that recipe makes me feel a bit guilty about that.

    Nice to see another fan of syrup+sugar on top, too – my mother objected, saying it’s redundant, but I like the texture it gives. (Plus a bit of lemon juice to offset the sweetness, for me.) Those look very impressive, too, well done TG!

  6. thank you all for the lovely comments, though I’m very concerned about mash potato in a pancake Ashly you’re just too kinky for me lol

  7. That is wonderfully dedicated. I do some housework in rubber but totally clad for the cooking is truly devoted to your partner and the fetish.

Leave me a comment . . .

