Mannequin

This girl is most definitely a child of the 80’s. There’s a lot of bad and tasteless things about the eighties – like shell suits and those t-shirts that changed color when you got hot but it was a really good era for films. One of this girl’s favourite rom-com’s from the 80’s is Mannequin which stars Kim Cattrall (of sex & the city) and Andrew McCarthy.

The film tells the story of Emmy, a girl living in ancient Egypt who wants to have a more exciting life and so gets sent travelling through time until she ends up being ‘assembled’ in a mannequin factory and shipped off to a department store where the guy who assembled her finds her and then she starts coming alive to him, but him only, and then the inevitable romantic mush follows eventually. It’s a good rom-com.

Anyway this girl can relate. The other day she felt very much like a mannequin. Faceless and motionless, being put back together by her own creator with the help of multiple orgasms 😉

Grimly has had a lot of input into creating this girl. Perhaps not creating her from scratch in the sense of assembling her or anything but he has certainly done a lot to modify her personality , confidence and desires in some explicit ways and some much more implicit.

This girl is a very different person to who she was when she met Grimly, she is much more confident and outgoing and certainly much more happier with herself and more secure with things than she had been with her ex partner.

In the film, Emmy desires to stop being a mannequin and to become human permanently and have a normal life, whereas there are times when this girl desires the reverse and seeks the fantasy as opposed to normality, though of course she wouldn’t want to be trapped in the fantasy on a permanent basis.

It’s funny really in that the reason why this girl met Grimly was exactly because of that, because she wanted the fantasy. Bondage, kink, torture, humiliation, transformation, everything. She wanted to explore things as much as possible. She was certainly not thinking about falling in love or any of that romantic stuff, but it happened. That’s why she’s getting married to him. Ever from first seeing this film this girl wanted the theme song as her wedding song but it’s too cheesy right?

Movie: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0093493/
Band: http://www.jeffersonairplane.com/

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Starship – Nothing´s Gonna Stop Us Now, Soundtr…, posted with vodpod

6 thoughts on “Mannequin

  1. Sweet! As a child of the 80’s myself, I totally relate to that great “bad” movie! And, isn’t it the charm of every adorable 80’s child to use music like that during our weddings?! Congratulations, and . . . . You go, girl!
    FT

  2. Also saw it, also remember Estelle Getty (Golden Girls) was in the film as well.

    And no, I dont think its too cheesy for a wedding song!

  3. Nothing is too cheesy for a wedding song because it’s YOUR day and it should all be just how you want it x

  4. I’ll give you an alternate song that seems apropos. More from Grimly’s time though- “You may be right” by Billy Joel. In your context the lyrics have some interesting meanings

    Friday night I crashed your party
    Saturday I said I’m sorry
    Sunday came and trashed it out again
    I was only having fun
    Wasn’t hurting anyone
    And we all enjoyed the weekend for a change

    I’ve been stranded in the combat zone
    I walked through Bedford Stuy alone
    Even rode my motorcycle in the rain
    And you told me not to drive
    But I made it home alive
    So you said that only proves that I’m insane

    You may be right
    I may be crazy
    But it just might be a lunatic you’re looking for
    Turn out the light
    Don’t try to save me
    You may be wrong for all I know
    But you may be right

    Remember how I found you there
    Alone in your electric chair
    I told you dirty jokes until you smiled
    You were lonely for a man
    I said take me as I am
    ‘Cause you might enjoy some madness for a while

    Now think of all the years you tried to
    Find someone to satisfy you
    I might be as crazy as you say
    If I’m crazy then it’s true
    That it’s all because of you
    And you wouldn’t want me any other way

    You may be right
    I may be crazy
    But it just may be a lunatic you’re looking for
    It’s too late to fight
    It’s too late to change me
    You may be wrong for all I know
    But you may be right

    You may be right
    I may be crazy
    But it just may be a lunatic you’re looking for
    Turn out the light
    Don’t try to save me
    You may be wrong for all I know
    You may be right
    You may be wrong but you may be right

  5. thanks guys, i probably wont have nothing’s going to stop us now since its the wedding song i wanted when i was seven but i still like it lol

    Thanks Tim, i quite like that song i think if we play that the family may find it a bit weird but we could have it at the wedding party we’re having in Canada 🙂

    Of course there’s also Grimly

Leave me a comment . . .

